Über uns

Mehr über Quirkos und unsere Mission

Über Quirkos

Quirkos ist in Edinburgh in Schottland beheimatet und bringt ein Team mit mehreren Jahrzehnten an Erfahrungen in der qualitativen Forschung zusammen. Wir waren frustriert mit den Angeboten der herkömmlichen qualitativen Softwareanwendungen, und wollten eine Software entwickeln, die einfacher zu benutzen war und die Forschende näher an ihre Daten brachte. Quirkos wurde 2013 gegründet, und nach ausgedehnten privaten Tests durch Sozialwissenschaftler an Universitäten und im öffentlichen Dienst, sowie kommerzielle Marktforscher ist es seit Oktober 2014 käuflich zu erwerben.

Grundgedanke ist es eine Software anzubieten, die den Bedürfnissen der Benutzer entspricht und durch sie weiterentwickelt wird. Der Kodierungsprozess sollte einfach zu verstehen und schnell zu lernen sein, so dass der Forschende sich voll auf den Inhalt seiner Daten konzentrieren kann, und nicht auf das Lernen oder Betreiben von Software. Außerdem wollten wir eine Software entwickeln, mit der auch Leute ohne Vorbildung in sozialwissenschaftlichen Forschungsmethoden die Einsichten und Erkenntnisse der qualitativen Forschung erfahren können. Wir glauben, dass jeder Interessierte die Möglichkeit haben sollte mit qualitativen Methoden zu arbeiten, und dass dies vielfältige Antworten und Einblicke auf komplexe gesellschaftliche Probleme eröffnet.

Das Team

Daniel Turner

Dr Daniel Turner ist der Gründer und Direktor von Quirkos.

Daniel studierte an der Universität Sheffield und promovierte dort 2008 mit einer qualitativen Arbeit über HIV/AIDS Selbsthilfegruppen in Botswana. Nach weiterer wissenschaftlicher Arbeit für die Universitäten Oxford Brookes und Sheffield Hallam wurde er inspiriert Quirkos zu gründen, nachdem er vergeblich versuchte eine Software zu finden, die es erlaubte Befragte am analytischen Prozess zu beteiligen. Vor seinem Studium war er Vorsitzender des Switch Youth Cafes in seiner Heimatstadt Maidstone in Kent, und er spielt Pauke im Gemeinde Orchester in Edinburgh.



Adrian Łubik

Adrian Łubik ist der führende Software Entwickler für Quirkos.

Adrian lebt in Schottland und hat vor kurzem einen Bachelor of Science (Honours) in Computerwissenschaften an der Universität Aberdeen abgeschlossen. Er ist ein zertifizierter Qt Spezialist und entwickelte Quirkos ohne Vorlagen innerhalb nur eines Jahres für Windows, Mac, Linux und Android. Und da für ihn die Programmiersprachen Qt, C++, Java und PHO nicht genug sind, spricht er fließend Englisch, Polnisch und Französisch und lernt noch weitere Sprachen nebenbei. Seine persönliche Webseite ist adianlubik.eu





Berater


Dr Lucy Pickering
hat an der Universität Cambridge studiert, und dann ihren Master und Doktortitel an der Universität Manchester erhalten. Sie hat umfassende Erfahrung mit vielen qualitativen und ethnographischen Methoden und benutzt eine Auswahl von qualitativen Softwareanwendungen in ihrer Forschungsarbeit zu Abhängigkeit und Drogenkonsum. Sie hilft Quirkos die Bedürfnisse von Endnutztern besser zu verstehen und ist seit dem ersten Entwicklungskonzept in allen Tests dabei gewesen.


Dr James Hensman
ist der Quirkos Guru für Statistiken und maschinelles Lernen. Er promovierte an der Universität Sheffield und hält dort eine Forschungsstelle für Biostatistiken und Maschinelles Lernen. Er ist außerdem ein begabter Koch und verbringt so viel Zeit wie möglich in Italien.

Mike Forster
ist Geschäftsführer einer in Edinburgh beheimateten GIS Firma, die geografische, interaktive Visualiesierungssoftware für akademische und öffentliche Nutzer entwickelt und vertreibt. Er bringt mehr als ein Jahrzehnt an Erfahrungen mit Forschungssoftware in das Quirkos Team.



Kontaktieren Sie uns

Bitte melden Sie sich bei uns, wenn Sie Fragen zu Quirkos haben: Anspruch auf Rabatte, Lizenzen für Standorte oder Einrichtungen, Training Workshops, oder wenn Sie uns Feedback zu unserer Software geben möchten. Wir freuen uns immer zu hören wie Sie Quirkos benutzen! Und sollte etwas nicht stimmen, dann teilen Sie es uns bitte auch mit, damit wir es abstellen können!

Schicken Sie uns eine Email auf info@quirkos.com oder support@quirkos.com

Folgen Sie uns auf Quirkossoftware (Manchmal twittern wir sogar auf deutsch!)

Rufen Sie uns an während unseren Bürozeiten (UK Zeit), 9:00 – 17:00 GMT, Montag bis Freitag (außer Feiertage) auf +44 (0) 131 555 3736

Unsere Büroadresse für Besucher, oder falls Sie uns etwas in der Post schicken wollen lautet:

27 Ocean Drive
Leith
Edinburgh
EH6 6JL


Oder Sie können uns per Skype anrufen oder chatten. Unser Benutzername ist einfach „quirkos“

Edinburgh skyline

About Us

More about Quirkos and our mission

About

Based in Edinburgh (Scotland), Quirkos brings together a team with decades of experience in qualitative research. Frustrated with existing software packages for qualitative analysis, they set out to design something that was easier to use, more affordable, and kept researchers closer to their data. Quirkos was founded in 2013, and after extensive private testing and development by users in academia, local authorities and market research firms, was made publicly available in October 2014.

The aim was to have qualitative software that was driven by the needs of users, with a fast coding and analysis process that kept experienced users close to their data. Secondly we wanted to create something that allowed people who didn't have extensive experience in research to gain the depth of understanding that qualitative insights allow. We feel that qualitative research is something that everyone should be able to get involved with, and that it can offer answers to complex problems in society.

Quirkos is now used in more than 50 organisations across the world, and is becoming a perfect fit for qualitative curriculums, since it can be taught so quickly. Quirkos Limited is not owned by any 3rd party organisation, and is free to devote itself to advancing and supporting Quirkos for qualitative research.

Team

Daniel Turner

Daniel Turner

Dr Daniel Turner is the founder and director of Quirkos.

He studied at the University of Sheffield, where he gained a PhD in 2008 for his qualitative research on HIV/AIDS support groups in Botswana. After working on other qualitative projects at Oxford Brookes and Sheffield Hallam Universities, he was inspired to create Quirkos after wanting to engage participants in the analysis process. He was formerly chairperson of the Switch Youth Cafe in his home town of Maidstone, and plays percussion in the local Edinburgh community orchestra.



Adrian Łubik

Adrian Łubik

Adrian Łubik is lead software developer for Quirkos.

Adrian has a BSc Hons in Computing Science from the University of Aberdeen, and lives in Scotland. He is a Certified Qt Specialist, and developed Quirkos from scratch in less than a year to run on Windows, Mac, Linux and Android. As if knowing Qt, C++, Java and PHP wasn't enough, he's fluent in English, Polish and French and is learning more languages. His personal website is adianlubik.eu





Kristin Schroeder

Kristin Schroeder

Kristin Schroeder is the Senior Sales Advisor for Quirkos

Kristin has a special focus on meeting the needs of Quirkos' users in the qualitative market research and commercial sectors. Kristin studied Modern History at Merton College, Oxford, but hails from the Baltic coast in Germany. She is an avid sci-fi fan, and describes David Tennant as 'absolutely' the best Doctor. She brings nearly a decade of sales experience to Quirkos, after working with large commercial clients for global automotive supplier Ryobi.



Advisors

Lucy Pickering


Dr Lucy Pickering
Dr Pickering studied at Cambridge University, before gaining a Masters and PhD from Manchester University. She has experience using a many qualitative ethnographic techniques, and using a variety of software packages from her research on addiction and problematic drug use. Dr Pickering helps Quirkos focus on end users, and has been involved through the whole testing and development process.

James Hensman


Dr James Hensman
Dr Hensman is the machine learning and statistics guru for Quirkos, with a PhD from the University of Sheffield where he was a Research Fellow in Biostatistics and Machine Learning. He has recently joined prowler.io as Senior Machine Learning Scientist. He is an accomplished cook, and spends as much time as he can in Italy.

Mike Forster
Mike is MD at an Edinburgh based GIS firm, delivering geospatial software for academic and public sector with unique and engaging interactive visualisations. He brings more than a decade of experience in research software to the Quirkos team.



Contact us

Do get in touch if you have any questions about Quirkos: eligibility for discounts, site and institutional licences, to arrange training or a workshop, general queries about qualitative research, or if you have any comments and feedback. We always love to hear about how you have been using Quirkos! If anything is wrong, please let us know so that we can fix it.

Email us at info@quirkos.com or support@quirkos.com

Follow us on Twitter at Quirkossoftware

Call us during UK office hours, 9am-5pm GMT,
Monday to Friday (except bank holidays) on +44 (0) 131 555 3736

If you are visiting our offices, or want to post something, we are located at:

27 Ocean Drive
Leith
Edinburgh
EH6 6JL


You can call or chat with us through Skype, our username is just 'quirkos'

Top of page