Flexible Funktionen für qualitative Analysen

Eine kurze Übersicht der Hauptfunktionen von Quirkos

Einfache Benutzeroberfläche, leistungsstarke Funktionen



Das Arbeiten mit Quirkos ist eine neue Erfahrung.

Alles ist visuell, farbenfroh und einladend. Benutzen Sie die selbe intuitive Benutzeroberfläche mit Windows, Mac, Android oder Linux. Dateien werden von selbst nach jedem Eingriff gespeichert, so dass Sie nie Ihre Daten verlieren. Egal ob es Ihr erstes qualitatives Projekt ist, oder ob Sie ein erfahrener Profi sind, mit leistungsstarken Abfragen können Sie Ihre Daten schnell und gründlich erkunden.

Schnelle Kodierung & Abrufe

Durch „Kodierung” wird ein Textabschnitt einem Themenkreis zugewiesen. Da dieser Vorgang häufig die meiste Zeit während einer qualitativen Datenanalyse beansprucht, macht Quirkos ihn so schnell und einfach wie möglich. Sie müssen den Textabschnitt nur per Mausklick markieren und dann auf den Themenkreis oder „Quirk“ ziehen. Die Quirks wachsen, wenn ihnen ein neuer Textabschnitt zugewiesen wird, so dass die relative Größe der Kreise die jeweilige Bedeutung der Themen aufzeigt.

  • Codes können in Unterkategorien und „Unter“-Unterkategorien sortiert werden
  • Kodierter Text kann nach Themenkreisen oder nach Quelltexten angesehen werden
  • Farbliche Markierung zeigt Themenzuordnung im Quelltext
  • Ordnen Sie Themen der Größe nach, alphabetisch, oder manuell
  • Volle „Undo / Redo“ Funktionalität, Themenkodierungen können zu jeder Zeit entfernt werden
  • Tastatur-Abkürzungen zum schnellen Kodieren







Erkunden Sie Ihre Daten

searching text in Quirkos and activating synonyms

Suchen

Leistungsstarke Suchfunktionen können Texte nach Schlüsselwörtern durchsuchen, und ermöglichen Ihnen relevante Textabschnitte schnell direkt zu kodieren.

  • Schnelle Ergebnisse, die schon vorhandene Codes anzeigen
  • Kodieren Sie die Suchergebnisse direkt
  • Durchsuchen Sie nur einen Quelltext oder das gesamte Projekt mit nur einem Klick
  • Alle Suchergebnisse können erweitert werden, um den Kontext anzuzeigen
  • Integrierte Suche für Synonyme und Antonyme
  • Filtern Sie Ihre Suche auf bestimmte Quelltexte oder vorhandene Codes
  • Speichern Sie Suchparameter zur späteren Wiederverwendung


Verknüpfungen

Anhäufungsansichten zeigen Ihnen, ob und wie Themen zusammen kodiert werden, noch während Sie mit dem Text arbeiten. Je häufiger Themen zusammen kodiert werden, desto näher rücken die Themenkreise aneinander. Sie können so verwandte Themen und übergreifende Textstellen erkennen. Diese Veranschaulichung kann Annahmen verfeinern oder sogar umkehren, und gibt Ihnen so ungeahnte Einsichten in Themen und deren Verbindungen.

cluster relationship views in Quirkos



side-by-side comparison of coding by demographic characteristics

Vergleiche

Jede Quelle kann in Quirkos durch eine unbegrenzte Anzahl von Kategorien definiert werden. Sie können so etwa die Ergebnisse von nur einer Unterkategorie der Quellen ansehen, wie zum Beispiel Geschlecht oder Altersgruppen. Sie können auch zwei Anfragen parallel anzeigen lassen, und Gemeinsamkeiten und Unterschiede direkt vergleichen.

Quellen und Methoden Mix

Ihr Quirkos Projekt kann dutzende von Quellen aufnehmen und Sie können die Texte ganz nach Ihren Vorlieben handhaben und klassifizieren: mit numerischen, diskreten oder mehrwertigen Eigenschaften. Verwenden Sie Interview-Transkripte, Artikel, Gesprächsnotizen und alle anderen Quellen, im Wissen, dass Sie mit allen oder mit nur ausgewählten Texten arbeiten können.

Importieren Sie Text- und Word-Dateien direkt, oder erstellen Sie eine neue Quelle von Ihrem Clipboard. Jede Datei, die Sie auf Ihrem Computer öffnen können, können Sie auch in Quirkos einbringen: ob Tabellen, PDF – Texte, Webseiten oder Facebook Einträge.

Zum Arbeiten mit „mixed method“-Umfragen, die sowohl qualitative als auch quantitave Daten enthalten, können Sie strukturierte Fragen verwenden und diese dann zur Analyse in Quirkos einbringen. Kodieren Sie die offenen Fragen und analysieren Sie die Ergebnisse mit Hilfe der diskreten und numerischen Eigenschaften. Quirkos erstellt auch Diagramme und Berichte, in denen quantitative Daten zusammengefasst werden.

Lernen Sie mehr über „Mixed Methods“ >>

Berichte



Mit Quirkos ist es einfach und flexibel Ihre Projektdaten anderen mitzuteilen. Sie können zum Beispiel Berichte nur über ausgewählte Quellen erstellen: Sie möchten jemandem nur die Zitate von Frauen in der Altersgruppe 18-24 zeigen? Mit Quirkos kein Problem!

Sie könenn natürlich auch Berichte über das gesamte Projekt verfassen, komplett mit Diagrammen und mit allen kodierten Textstellen nach Ihren Vorstellungen sortiert. Importiern Sie alle grafischen Darstellungen direkt in Ihre PowerPoint Präsentation, erstellen Sie PDF-Dateien, oder senden Sie Ihr Projekt schnell zum Drucker. Sie können außerdem dynamische und interaktive Webseiten erstellen, auf welcher Besucher Ihre Ergebnisse selbst erkunden können, alles gepaart mit Ihrer visuellen Unternehmensidentität.

Quirkos ermöglicht Ihnen den Export der Quellen in ein Word-Dokument mit allen vorhandenen Codes farblich hervorgehoben. Sie können Ihr Projekt außerdem als CSV-Datei exportieren und so mit Excel, SPSS oder anderen qualitativen Programmen weitere statistische Analysen durchführen.

Sehen Sie einen interaktiven Bericht hier

Arbeiten im Team

Quirkos wurde von Anfang an mit dem Gedanken an Teamwork entworfen. Alle Handlungen sind mit einem Benutzernamen (oder Initialen) verbunden, so dass Sie sofort sehen können wer und wann welche Veränderungen vorgenommen hat. Vergleichen Sie die Arbeiten zweier Benutzer, oder löschen Sie alle Kodierungen eines bestimmten Zeitraumes.

In Quirkos erstellte Dateien sind über alle Plattformen voll kompatibel: beginnen Sie Ihre Analyse im Zug auf einem Android Tablet und senden Sie Ihr Projekt per Email an einen Kollegen zum Weiterarbeiten auf einem PC oder Laptop.

Sie können sogar Kunden und Teammitglieder in die Analyse mit einbeziehen. Bringen Sie Ihre Umfrageteilnehmer und Ihre Forschungskollegen an einen Tisch und lassen Sie sie Fragen und Antworten unmittelbar per Touchscreen-Tablet analysieren. Oder geben Sie Ihren Respondenten die Daten mit nach Hause, um sie in aller Ruhe zu bewerten.

Internationale Sprachen



Egal in welcher Sprache und mit welchem Schriftsystem Sie arbeiten, Sie können alle Texte in Quirkos zusammen bringen.

Quirkos kann mit verschiedenen Sprachen und Schriftsystemen gleichzeitig arbeiten. Integrieren Sie Texte in lateinischer Schrift, mit Quellen in linksläufigen Sprachen wie Arabisch und Hebräisch, und logografischen und Silbenschriftsystemen wie Japanisch, Chinesisch oder Koreanisch.

Sie können verschiedene Sprachen in einem Projekt verwenden und Themen darin kodieren. Schreiben, kopieren oder importieren Sie einfach Ihre existierenden Quellen: die Schriftart wird automatisch erkannt und wiedergegeben. Sogar innerhalb einer Quelle können verschiedene Schriftsysteme verwendet werden, so das Unterhaltungen oder Übersetzungen in diversen Sprachen dargestellt werden können. Sie können übrigens auch einfache Wörtersuchen in den verschiedenen Sprachen durchführen.

Testen Sie Quirkos einen Monat kostenfrei! Demoversionen für Mac oder Windows mit voller Funktionalität.

Flexible software for qualitative analysis

A quick overview of the main features in Quirkos

Easy interface, powerful qualitative tools



Cartoon of Quirkos bubbles on a laptop

Qualitative research with Quirkos is a fresh experience.

Everything is visual, colourful and engaging. Use the same intuitive interface and features across Windows, Mac, Android or Linux. Projects save after each action so you don't lose work.

Whether you are just starting qualitative analysis or you are a seasoned professional, the process is quick, and keeps you close to your data. Quirkos is the best way to work with in-depth, 'small data'.

Screenshots

The Quirkos Canvas view of themes and topics

  The canvas view represents the topics in your project as bubbles  

Cluster overlap views

  Cluster views visualise connections in your thematic coding  

Comparison queries

  Side-by-side views let you see how different respondents compare  

Properties and metadata

  Define your qualitative sources with properties and metadata  

Graph of source properties

  Get live graphs of your respondent data  

Integrated synonym search

  Text search includes selective synonym options  

Interactive reports

  Share findings with interactive and customisable reports  

Word export

  Export your coding to Word, complete with coloured highlights  

Spreadsheet import

  Bring in data from spreadsheets or on-line survey platforms  

Fast code and retrieve

Coding is how you define a section of text as being relevant to a particular topic or node. It's what usually takes the most time in qualitative analysis and when using text coding software, so Quirkos tries to make coding as quick and easy as possible. Just drag and drop a selection of text onto one of the bubble 'Quirks' to assign the text to that code. Quirks grow whenever a section of text is added to them, with the relative size showing the importance of themes emerging from our sources.

  • Group codes by sub and sub-sub categories
  • View coded text by node, or in context of the source
  • Colour-coded highlights show topics within the text
  • Sort topics by size, name, or manually
  • Full undo/redo, and remove coding at any time
  • Keyboard short-cuts for fast coding
drag and drop coding


Quirkos bubble themes



highlighting text

Exploring qualitative data

searching text in Quirkos and activating synonyms

Search

Powerful qualitative software tools let you search through the text for keywords, helping you quickly find and code relevant sections.

  • Fast results, showing all your previous coding
  • Code directly from the search results
  • Search one source, or the whole project at the touch of a button.
  • Each search result expands to show surrounding context
  • Integrated synonym search for related words and antonyms
  • Refine the search to particular sources or existing coding
  • Save searches to re-run later


Relationships

The cluster view lets you see if topics are being coded together as you go through your text. Themes get automatically closer the more they are related, which lets you see connected nodes, and the text that overlaps. This can check your assumptions or give you insight into themes you never thought were connected.

qualitative analysis with Quirkos



side-by-side comparison of coding by demographic characteristics

Comparisons

Each source in Quirkos can be defined by a unlimited number of categories. The software gives you the power to look at results just from a sub-group of your sources, for example by gender or an age-range. You can even run two queries in a side-by-side comparison view, and see the difference in results from one group to another.

Word clouds

Visualise your qualitative data with word clouds and word frequency data, showing the words and themes emerging from your data. Create them for the whole project or selected sources for comparison, and customise them just the way you want them.

qualitative word clouds with Quirkos


Sources and mixed-methods research

Your Quirkos project can contain dozens of sources, and you can manage and categorise them in any way you like, with discrete, numerical or multiple values properties. Include interview transcripts, articles, memos or any other qualitative source, and know you can work with them all, or just the sources you need.

Import text, PDF and Word files directly, or create a new source directly from text copied to the clipboard. Any data you can open on your computer you can paste into Quirkos, including websites and even Facebook posts.

When working with mixed-method survey data which includes qualitative and quantitative data, you can create structured question projects to analyse them, and bring in all your data into Quirkos. Bring closed and open-ended questions into Quirkos in a click from spreadsheets, or survey platforms such as LimeLM and SurveyMonkey. Code the open-ended responses, and analyse the results by your discrete or numerical properties. Quirkos software can also produce graphs and reports to summarise your quantitative and discrete data.

Learn More about mixed-methods»

The source browser in Quirkos

Reports

The bubble canvas

A text-based report

Getting your data from your qualitative project out to the real world is a quick and flexible process with Quirkos. Users can export a report only covering certain respondents: want to show only the quotes from women aged 18-24? No problem.

Or generate reports for the whole project, complete with graphical views, with all your coded text sorted as you like it. Get images to load straight into PowerPoint or Word, generate PDF reports to share with clients, or create a quick printed copy. You can also create a dynamic and interactive website of your findings which visitors can explore, and customise it with your organisation's visual identity.

Quirkos even lets you export a source as a Word file, complete with all your coding as colour-coded highlights to share or print. You can also export your work as CSV files, to bring your work into Excel, SPSS or other qualitative analysis software for further statistical analysis.

You can view an example interactive report here

Teamwork

Quirkos was designed with teamwork in mind. All actions are logged with the user's name or initials, so you can see who made what changes and when. Compare one person's work with another's in a graphical view, and even undo all the work during a specific period of time. Merge files together so researchers can work remotely.

Since Quirkos files are compatible across all supported platforms, you can continue qualitative analysis on the train using a tablet, and share via e-mail or Dropbox to a colleague working on a laptop or desktop.

Quirkos software makes qualitative research so intuitive that even clients and research participants can get involved in the analysis process. Why not all work around a tablet or touchscreen computer in a group session? Researchers can even give the data to the participants or clients to analyse or explore in their own time.

Drawing of Quirkos on a laptop

International text support

Multiple languages in one file

Whatever language your text is in, bring it together with Quirkos.

Quirkos has built-in support for working in multiple languages, and any kind of script. Integrate data sources from Latin based languages, right to left scripts such as Arabic and Hebrew, and even logographic, syllabic and featural based systems such as Chinese, Japanese or Korean.

If your qualitative research is multi-lingual, you can include different languages in the same project, and code across sources from different languages. Just type, copy and paste, or import from an existing source: script types are all detected automatically. In fact, sources can be of mixed scripts, so you can see conversations or translations in multiple languages. You can even perform basic word searches in different languages.

Free trial buttonWhy not give qualitative research with Quirkos a try?
Download a one month free trial today for Mac, Windows or Linux.